As a No-Budget Filmmaker, your job doesn't stop once the final edit is done, you need peepers to see your hard work! How do you go about marketing your film to make sure the maximum number of people not only know about it but can't wait to see it? Alex and Trevor walk you through all the different ways you can get the word out for low to no money and make sure that this film won't be your last.

In this episode, we discuss:

  • Facebook and IG Ads
  • Google and YouTube Ads
  • Forums and Groups
  • Email List Building
  • Guerrilla Marketing Techniques

 

WHAT'S COOL

  1. LaCie 8TB Rugged RAID Shuttle Drive (https://www.premiumbeat.com/blog/nab-2019-lacie-rugged-raid-shuttle-drive/)
  2. My Rode Reel 2019 (https://www.rode.com/myrodereel)
  3. Writers now suing agents (https://variety.com/2019/film/news/writers-guild-video-attack-agents-packaging-1203173585/)
  4. Aputure's Color Picker and RC LED Light (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/04/12/aputure-rc-led-light/)
  5. Asus Dolby Vision HDR Monitors (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/04/14/asus-pa32ucx-pq22uc-dolby-vision-hdr-monitors/)
  6. fTrack Review (https://www.provideocoalition.com/new-ftrack-review-collaborative-platform-subscription-costs-50-less/)
  7. P+S Technik Technovision 1.5X Anamorphic Lenses (https://www.provideocoalition.com/nab-2019-ps-technik-technovision-classic-1-5x-lenses/)

 

 

Talk to us!

Join Fearless Filmmakers, a community of independent filmmakers taking the industry by the horns: https://www.fearlessfilmmakers.com

 

 

P.S. Don't forget to subscribe to our show on iTunes, Google, Stitcher, Spotify, TuneIn, or iHeartRadio

There is nothing worth than a static shot of talking heads, so how can you take a mundane scene or shot and add a little spice? By adding movement! Whether it is moving your camera or moving your actors, Alex and Trevor break down how to keep your audience engaged and liven up any shot.

In this episode, we discuss:

  • Why to create movement
  • Motivation
  • Ways to move the camera
  • Moving actors within a scene
  • Moving props and sets

 

WHAT'S COOL

  1. Hive Bumble Bee 25-C (https://www.cinema5d.com/bumble-bee-25c-pocketsized-led-fixture-hive-lighting/)
  2. Blackmagic Davinci Resolve Editor Keyboard (https://www.provideocoalition.com/blackmagic-goes-8k-nostalgic-jog-shuttle-linear-editing-features-at-nab-2019/)
  3. Canon Sumire PL Primes (https://nofilmschool.com/Canon-Sumire-PL-Mount-Lenses)
  4. Multi Turret System (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/04/10/multi-turret-old-school-meets-new-school/)
  5. Teradek CTRL.3 (https://nofilmschool.com/wireless-lens-control-leaps-forward-teradek)
  6. Aputure 300d II (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/04/10/aputure-cob-300d-ii/)
  7. Tokina Cinema Vista Primes (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/04/09/tokina-cinema-vista-one-first-look/)

 

 

Talk to us!

Join Fearless Filmmakers, a community of independent filmmakers taking the industry by the horns: https://www.fearlessfilmmakers.com

 

 

P.S. Don't forget to subscribe to our show on iTunes, Google, Stitcher, Spotify, TuneIn, or iHeartRadio

Directors often say that the most important work they do is casting, so how do you find the perfect actors for your project. Alex and Trevor break down all the different ways you can discover the next movie star and talk about how the casting process is moving towards a new process in the digital age.

 

In this episode, we discuss:

  • The Process
  • Creating Breakdowns
  • Finding Audition Locations
  • Scheduling
  • Using Readers
  • Taping
  • Platforms

 

WHAT'S COOL

  1. Alexa Mini LF (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/03/28/arri-alexa-mini-lf-announced/)
  2. Atomos Shinobi SDI (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/03/28/atomos-shinobi-sdi-announced-for-499/)
  3. Sony RX0 II RK (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/03/26/sony-announces-the-4k-rx0-ii-with-a-flip-screen/)
  4. Tiffen Steadimate-S (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/03/27/tiffen-steadimate-s-for-single-handed-gimbals/)
  5. A high school in NJ put on a performance of Alien (https://nofilmschool.com/2019/03/some-high-schoolers-created-alien-play-and-it-diy-awesome)
  6. Lumix S1 Paid Upgrade (https://www.cinema5d.com/panasonic-lumix-s1-paid-upgrade-coming-in-july/)
  7. Lupo Superpanel Dual Color 60 (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/03/19/lupo-superpanel-dual-color-60-review-the-new-output-king/)

 

 

Talk to us!

Join Fearless Filmmakers, a community of independent filmmakers taking the industry by the horns: https://www.fearlessfilmmakers.com

 

 

P.S. Don't forget to subscribe to our show on iTunes, Google, Stitcher, Spotify, TuneIn, or iHeartRadio

This episode is LATE! And it's not a true blue episode... But, today, Alex and Trevor give a brief update into what they are doing, why this episode is so lame, and ask the listeners to submit their filmmaking questions and ideas for future podcast episodes.

 

In this episode, we discuss:

  • Updates
  • What do you want to hear?
  • What are your biggest questions about filmmaking?
  • What episodes should we do next?

 

WHAT'S COOL

  1. GimbalGun (https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/williamgraham/the-gimbalguntm-a-run-and-gun-gimbal-support-tool?utm_source=kickbooster-direct&utm_medium=kickbooster&utm_content=link&utm_campaign=51647dcb)
  2. RED Ranger (https://nofilmschool.com/RED-Ranger-Rental)
  3. Bright Tangerine Drumstix (https://www.4kshooters.net/2019/03/17/bright-tangerine-announces-drumstix-sterling-titanium-15mm-19mm-rods/)
  4. PortKeys BM5 Field Monitor (https://www.cinema5d.com/portkeys-bm5/)
  5. PortKeys OEYE-3G EVF (https://www.cinema5d.com/portkeys-oeye-3g-evf-with-1080p-resolution-announced/)
  6. Mini Paglink Batteries (https://www.provideocoalition.com/mini-paglink-smaller-batteries-for-smaller-4k-broadcast-camcorders/)
  7. Ikan Onyx LEDs (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/03/20/ikan-onyx-digital-color-led-1-x-2-soft-light-w-tune-able-rgb-color-control/)

 

 

Talk to us!

Join Fearless Filmmakers, a community of independent filmmakers taking the industry by the horns: https://www.fearlessfilmmakers.com

 

 

P.S. Don't forget to subscribe to our show on iTunes, Google, Stitcher, Spotify, TuneIn, or iHeartRadio

Self describe horror movie freaks Alex and Trevor break down what they view as the biggest problems with horror movies these days. Damsel in distress? Cheesy killer? What do many horror films fall victim (get it?) to? But don't fear, the horror duo also focuses on what they love so much about horror flix.

In this episode, we discuss:

  • Predictability
  • Impossible Predicaments
  • Origin Story Woes
  • Character Issues
  • Exposition Dumps
  • and More!

 

WHAT'S COOL 

  1. First Footage of Canon 8k System (https://nofilmschool.com/Canon-8K-First-Footage)
  2. Blindspot Crack Light (https://26531e38.kckb.st)
  3. IDC IPL Series of Batteries (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/03/12/idx-ipl-98-ipl-150-stackable-batteries/)
  4. Mu Tag (https://0dbb2b7b.kckb.st)
  5. Insta360 EVO (https://www.4kshooters.net/2019/03/14/insta360-evo-is-a-foldable-camera-that-shoots-5-7k-180-3d/)
  6. Zacuto Kameleon EVF (https://www.cinema5d.com/zacuto-kameleon-evf-announced-1080p-resolution-hdmi-sdi-lemo-power-out/)

 

Talk to us!

Join Fearless Filmmakers, a community of independent filmmakers taking the industry by the horns: https://www.fearlessfilmmakers.com

 

 

P.S. Don't forget to subscribe to our show on iTunes, Google, Stitcher, Spotify, TuneIn, or iHeartRadio

So you have the best camera you could afford, all the equipment, have shot the best project of your life, and are about to sit down and edit it......on an Acer laptop from 2010. Time for a post-production workflow UPGRADE! Alex and Trevor nerd out (mostly Trevor) about what you should look for when pimping out your post-production workshop. From building your own computer and what components are most important to accessories, monitors, and the morel, Alex and Trevor will walk you help you make your post work flow much much smoother.

 

In this episode, we discuss:

  • Towers vs. Laptops vs. All-in-Ones
  • What you need to create a 4K editing machine
  • Processors
  • GPUs
  • Memory
  • Monitors
  • Accessories

 

WHAT'S COOL

  1. SmallHD Focus 7 (https://www.4kshooters.net/2019/03/05/smallhd-focus-7-monitor-bigger-brighter/)
  2. Blackmagic URSA Mini Pro G2 (https://www.4kshooters.net/2019/03/05/new-blackmagic-ursa-mini-pro-g2-camera-shoots-4k-120fps-raw/)
  3. USB4 (https://techcrunch.com/2019/03/04/with-usb-4-thunderbolt-and-usb-will-converge/)
  4. ARRI WVR-1s Wireless Video Receiver (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/03/07/arri-wvr-1s-wireless-video-receiver/)
  5. Rayzr MC RGBW Panels (https://www.cinema5d.com/rayzr-mc-introduced-high-quality-rgbww-led-panels/)
  6. BMPCC 4K finally gets Blackmagic RAW (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/03/06/bmpcc-4k-finally-gets-blackmagic-raw/)
  7. Sony Xperia 1 (https://www.provideocoalition.com/sony-xperia-1-a-219-smartphone-with-cineaalta-technology-inside/)

 

 

Talk to us!

Join Fearless Filmmakers, a community of independent filmmakers taking the industry by the horns: https://www.fearlessfilmmakers.com

 

 

P.S. Don't forget to subscribe to our show on iTunes, Google, Stitcher, Spotify, TuneIn, or iHeartRadio

They've done many, many episodes - too many, some would say - on thtechnicalal aspects of filmmaking. Well today, Alex and Trevor are going in a different direction and talking about the theory behind film and why you should spend the time to learn about the critical studies of film and television.

In this episode, we discuss:

  • Critical thinking and film theory
  • Why it will help you as a writer or filmmaker
  • Style, tone, and theme
  • How to learn about film theory

 

YouTube Channels We Mentioned

  • Lessons From the Screenplay
  • Every Frame a Painting
  • Now You See It
  • What It All Meant
  • Lindsay Ellis
  • Folding Ideas
  • Thomas flight
  • The Royal Ocean Film Society

 

WHAT'S COOL

  1. The Trailer for 'Man Who Killed Don Quixote' (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=29S2P5ntGOY)
  2. 1 TB MicroSD (https://nofilmschool.com/MicroSD-1TB-Card)
  3. Glyph Atom Pro SSD and Thunderbolt 3 Docks (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/02/27/glyph-atom-pro-ssd-and-thunderbolt-3-docks/)
  4. PostHaste (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/02/22/post-haste-a-free-tool-to-keep-your-project-files-organised/)
  5. Obsbot Tail First Footage (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/02/26/obsbot-tail-self-tracking-ai-camera-review/)

 

 

Talk to us!

Join Fearless Filmmakers, a community of independent filmmakers taking the industry by the horns: https://www.fearlessfilmmakers.com

 

 

P.S. Don't forget to subscribe to our show on iTunes, Google, Stitcher, Spotify, TuneIn, or iHeartRadio

There is no such thing as a perfect equipment kit that can shoot any project, but we sure can dream can't we? Alex and Trevor walk you through what you should look for and strive for as you build out your equipment and move towards bigger projects, budgets, and profits.

In this episode, we discuss:

  • Building Your "Perfect" Kit
  • What is important to you
  • Phase 1 & Phase 2
  • How to scale, and should you?
  • Working with a small footprint vs having anything you could ever need

 

WHAT'S COOL

 

  1. Greyscalegorilla Giveaway (https://woobox.com/omigc7/l8mbji)
  2. Rokoko Smartsuit Pro (https://nofilmschool.com/rokoko-review-high-quality-mocap-fraction-cost)
  3. Redcat 250mm f4.9 lens (https://nofilmschool.com/250mm-Telephoto-Redcat-Kickstarter)
  4. Aputure Fresnel 2x (https://www.4kshooters.net/2019/02/22/supercharge-your-aputure-120d-300d-cob-led-with-the-fresnel-2x/)
  5. Atomos Shinobi (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/02/15/atomos-5-shinobi-monitor/)
  6. Wooden Camera Zip Box Pro (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/02/21/wooden-camera-zip-box-pro-now-shipping/)

 

Talk to us!

Join Fearless Filmmakers, a community of independent filmmakers taking the industry by the horns: https://www.fearlessfilmmakers.com

 

 

P.S. Don't forget to subscribe to our show on iTunes, Google, Stitcher, Spotify, TuneIn, or iHeartRadio

They've talked about the pros and cons of going to Film school, but if you are pulling the trigger, what exactly can you expect? How should you prepare for your first class? And what would Alex and Trevor do differently if they could start film school all over again?

 

In this episode, we discuss:

  • How to Prepare
  • What to Expect
  • What to Get Out of It
  • What We Would Have Done Differently

 

WHAT'S COOL

  1. Zylight F8 200 (https://www.cinema5d.com/zylight-f8-200-field-review-a-stellar-high-output-led-fresnel/)
  2. Ushio ColourMax LED Tubes (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/02/10/ushio-colourmax-tubes-kino-flo-diva/)
  3. The Devil in the White City heads to Hulu as a series (https://nofilmschool.com/Scorsese-DiCaprio-Hulu)
  4. Filmocracy (https://nofilmschool.com/Filmocracy-Streaming-Gamification)
  5. SteadyCross Magnetic Camera Stabilizer sans battery or electronics (https://www.cinema5d.com/steadycross-magnetic-camera-stabilizer-sans-batteries-or-electronics/)
  6. Rode Cast Podcasting Competition, 1 to 2 minutes, anything you want, win prizes! (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/02/12/my-rode-cast-podcasting-competition/)

 

Talk to us!

Join Fearless Filmmakers, a community of independent filmmakers taking the industry by the horns: https://www.fearlessfilmmakers.com

 

 

P.S. Don't forget to subscribe to our show on iTunes, Google, Stitcher, Spotify, TuneIn, or iHeartRadio

People love to put their videos on YouTube. Cat videos, kids dunking in trash cans, there are endless videos about countless subjects, but is YouTube a haven for getting your shorts and feature seen by the masses? Alex and Trevor dive into the pitfalls and drawbacks of relying on YouTube and offer better alternatives for the indie filmmaker.

In this episode, we discuss:

  • The Pros and Cons of YouTube
  • Alternatives for Hosting
  • Alternatives for Distribution
  • How to best utilize social video platforms
  • Different strokes for different folks

 

WHAT'S COOL

  1. LumaFusion (https://www.cinema5d.com/fast-video-editing-ipad-pro-lumafusion/)
  2. Red Giant Universe 3.0 (https://www.cinema5d.com/red-giant-universe-3/)
  3. The Criterion Channel (https://www.criterionchannel.com/buy/subscription?plan=monthly)
  4. Kanopy (https://www.kanopy.com/category/supplier/criterion-collectionjanus-films)
  5. Short Hotswap Sharkfin (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/02/07/new-short-hotswap-shark-fin-adapter-battery-plates-from-core-swx/)
  6. Intellytech Pocket Cannon (https://www.newsshooter.com/2019/02/06/intellytech-pocket-cannon-mini-led-fresnel/)
  7. New Pet Sematary trailer (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zK0LNzU2TQI)

 

 

Talk to us!

Join Fearless Filmmakers, a community of independent filmmakers taking the industry by the horns: https://www.fearlessfilmmakers.com

 

 

P.S. Don't forget to subscribe to our show on iTunes, Google, Stitcher, Spotify, TuneIn, or iHeartRadio

Load more